3 Stages of Menopause

What is menopause?

Menopause is a normal, natural event. It is defined as the final menstrual period and is usually confirmed with a woman has not had her period for 12 consecutive months. The issue with this standard definition is that while it is a normal natural event, it is very disruptive in the majority of women. It can be so disruptive and comfortable that the hot flashes (power surges), night sweats (tossing the covers off all night long), difficulty sleeping and vaginal dryness, drive women to seek help and advice from their gynecologist. There are three stages of menopause:

1) Perimenopause – This usually occurs several years before natural menopause. We now have sensitive tests such as Inhibir B which are more sensitive than the traditional FSH) to detect it.

2) Natural Menopause – The average age for American women to go through menopause is 51 years old.

3) Post Menopause – This is the time after menopause. What many women don’t realize is that the early signs of menopause may start years before their final menstrual period with mental signs. Often women will come to the clinic with questions about what is happening to them.

The following are early signs of menopause:

– Not being able to focus.

– Not concentrating as well as they used to concentrate.

– Warrm flashes followed by cold chills.

– Sex has become uncomfortable All of the above are early subtle signs of menopause.

On the opposite end of the spectrum, women come to the Menopause Clinic in Houston with full-blown menopause symptoms including hot flashes that happen especially at night and are disrupting their sleep, irritability, not being able to concentrate and focus at work, and on occasion, they are asking to “get their life back.” At the Menopause Clinic you will get enough uninterrupted face time with the doctor to dismiss these issues. Dr. Leibman will discuss your specific symptoms, give you time to explain your needs, and then provide you with possible solutions and an individualized treatment plan.